Jacket Image



Judenstaat

Simone Zelitch

List price £17.99 Add to basket
Product Details
Format:
Hardback
ISBN:
9780765382962
Published:
01 Jul 2016
Publisher:
Macmillan
Dimensions:
320 pages - 236 x 154 x 28mm

Categories:

Forty years later, Jewish historian Judit Klemmer is making a documentary portraying Judenstaat's history from the time of its founding to the present. She is haunted by the ghost of her dead husband, Hans, a Saxon, shot by a sniper as he conducted the National Symphony. With the grief always fresh, Judit lives a half life, until confronted by a mysterious, flesh and blood ghost from her past who leaves her controversial footage on one of Judenstaat's founding fathers and a note.

They lied about the murder.

Judit's research into the footage, and what really happened to Hans, embroils her in controversy and conspiracy, collective memory and national amnesia, and provides her with answers far more horrific than she imagined.

A stunning new novel in the tradition of The Man in the High Castle and The Plot Against America. On April 4th, 1948, the sovereign state of Judenstaat was created in the territory of Saxony, bordering Germany, Poland, and the Soviet Union.

You might also be interested in..

« Back