Jacket Image



Dating Tips for the Unemployed

Iris Smyles

List price £10.99 Add to basket
Product Details
Format:
Paperback
ISBN:
9780544703384
Published:
01 Aug 2016
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin
Dimensions:
250 pages - 203 x 134 x 12mm

Stalled on the precipice of adulthood, Iris doesn’t know where her life post-college will lead and, to be honest, it’s not a primary concern. She’s tried applying for jobs, she’s dipped her toes into dating, and she’s become Manhattan’s resident expert at finding ways to distract herself from what she really wants to do. When she does sit down to write, what emerges are meditations on small talk, family, arctic exploration, cannibalism, quantum physics, literary immortality, etiquette guides, memory, dreams, loneliness, growing up, and growing old. A refreshing blend of Proust and Holly Golightly, Iris covers it all.

Evoking the screwball heroines of a bygone age as she finds herself often a little lost in her own, Iris relates hilarious and heartbreaking episodes. A mature book about immaturity, Dating Tips for the Unemployed is a wistful, melancholic, madcap, and erudite picaresque about the miserable fun of trying to find a career, love, and yourself at home and abroad.

For readers of Sarah Vowell and David Rakoff, tales from the life of “Iris Smyles,” a young woman courting (and resisting) love and success, with absurd yet improbably poignant results.

You might also be interested in..

« Back